

United appeal against cooperation with the far-right in Austria

We call upon all pro-democratic parties in Austria to take a united stand against any possible cooperation or coalition with the far-right Freedom Party of Austria (FPÖ) in the aftermath of the upcoming elections in Austria on 29 September.

Far-right political parties stand in direct opposition to our core democratic values, and the fundamental human rights that underpin the European Union (EU). The FPÖ's divisive rhetoric, populist policies and disregard for citizens' rights stand in opposition to the values that the majority of Austrians, and Europeans, stand for. Enabling their ascent to power would be an affront to the Austrian people's longstanding support for democracy and liberty.

The challenges our society faces are many, and our fellow citizens, both in Austria and across the EU, look for an assured and comprehensive response to those challenges. The far-right, like all extremist movements, is not interested in finding solutions to those challenges. Instead, they wish to sow division, spread fear and undermine the institutions that are the foundation of our democracy. Collaborating with them will not offer the answers our fellow citizens look for, it will only undermine our democracy, our society and our economy.

It is an essential duty for all democratic forces that wish to see their countries secure a prosperous and harmonious future to stand firm against the normalisation of far-right authoritarianism.

Let us take this opportunity to reaffirm our commitment to European values and ensure that democracy and inclusion, not fear and division, are the way forward for Austria and for Europe.

Signatories:

- Guy VERHOFSTADT, former MEP, President of the European Movement International;
- Marc ANGEL MEP, Luxembourg (S&D);
- Brando BENIFEI MEP, Italy (S&D);
- Gabriele BISCHOFF MEP, Germany (S&D);
- Damian BOESELAGER MEP, Germany (Greens/EFA);
- Helmut BRANDSTÄTTER MEP, Austria (Renew Europe);
- Alice Kuhnke MEP, Sweden (Greens/EFA)
- Anna CAVAZZINI MEP, Germany (Greens/EFA);
- Elio DI RUPO MEP, Belgium (S&D);
- Daniel FREUND MEP, Germany (Greens/EFA);
- Raquel GARCÍA HERMIDA-VAN DER WALLE MEP, The Netherlands (Renew Europe);
- Evin INCIR MEP, Sweden (S&D);
- Ilhan KYUCHYUK MEP, Bulgaria (Renew Europe);
- Juan Fernando LÓPEZ AGUILAR MEP, Spain (S&D);
- Evelyn REGNER MEP, Austria (S&D);
- Terry REINTKE MEP, Germany (Greens/EFA);
- Andres SCHIEDER MEP, Austria (S&D);
- Lena SCHILLING MEP, Austria (Greens/EFA);
- Anna STROLENBERG MEP, the Netherlands (Greens/EFA);
- Anna STÜRGKH MEP, Austria (Renew Europe);
- Reinier VAN LANSCHOT MEP, the Netherlands (Greens/EFA);
- Hilde VAUTMANS MEP, Belgium (Renew Europe);
- Thomas WAITZ MEP, Austria (Greens/EFA).